The One That Got Away

The One That Got Away by The Civil Wars. I love this song so much, I just had to share. It reminds me of someone I dated once. He left quite the impression on my life and taught me to always strive for what I deserved. He wasn’t a bad man, in fact I cared for him quite a lot. Nonetheless, once I actually had him, he became completely emotionally unavailable. I still think he’s afraid of being truly known by someone. He always said he was much more honest with me than anyone else and that “I had seen too much” for it to be any other way. I took pride in the fact that I gave him someone he could be honest with but still, I couldn’t stay with him if he wasn’t willing to truly be with me 100%. So I walked away. We remain friends to this day and it’s a time that we refer back to almost as an extension of our friendship but we never speak of the emotional aspect of it all. 

This song just feels like that for me though. Her voice cuts right through me to the core every time. I love it. 

Hopefully you enjoy too :). Lyrics are below. 

I never meant to get us in this deepI never meant for this to mean a thing

Oh, I wish you were the one

Wish you were the one that got away
I got caught up by the chase

And you got high on every little bit

I wish you were the one

Wish you were the one that got away
Oh, if I could go back in time

When you only held me in my mind

Just a longing, gone without a trace

Oh, I wish I never ever seen your face

I wish you were the one

Wish you were the one that got away
I miss the way you wanted me

When I was staying just out of your reach

Begging for the slightest touch

Ooh, you couldn’t get enough, mmm
Oh, if I could go back in time

When you only held me in my mind

Just a longing, gone without a trace

Oh, I wish I never ever seen your face

I wish you were the one

Wish you were the one that got away
Got away from me

Got away from me

For anybody has to breathe
Oh, if I could go back in time

When you only held me in my mind

Just a longing, gone without a trace

Oh, I wish I never ever seen your face

I wish you were the one

I wish you were the one

Oh, I wish you were the one

I wish you were the one that got away

by Ashley Hebner

© All Rights Reserved 2016

Leave a Reply

