8 Songs for Strong Women by Strong Women

  1. “Black Sheep” by Gin Wigmore

First off, Gin Wigmore is just outright amazing. With her gravelly voice and deep lyrics, she’s everything a woman could ask for (in my humble opinion). Black Sheep, from the Gravel & Wine album, is an ode to misfits, freaks, and… well, black sheep everywhere. This song truly inspired me (which led to the words “Black Sheep” being tattooed on the outside of my wrist). I’ll never forget the summer days spent driving aimlessly in my car belting out the lyrics like it was my last day on Earth. Check her out.

“I got lots of jealous lovers that all wish they had me back. Gotta pistol for a mouth, my old mama gave me that. Makin’ my own road out of gravel and some wine. If I have to fall then it wont be in your line.”

 

2. “Hard Out Here” by Lily Allen

Hard Out Here is a poppy electronic song about gender inequality. She embraces the term “bitch” and owns it. It’s not what I normally listen to and yet, every time I hear it I’m guaranteed to be humming it for the rest of the day. It’s just catchy and furthermore, talks about very real problems in the world today. Lily Allen is unapologetic and I love it.

“Sometimes it’s hard to find the words to say. I’ll go ahead and say them anyway. Forget your balls and grow a pair of tits. It’s hard, it’s hard, it’s hard out here for a bitch.”

 

3. “365 Days” by ZZ Ward

ZZ Ward is my hero. No seriously though, this woman is incredible. I’ve never heard so much soul in a modern day singer. And not only is she a singer, she also plays the guitar, harmonica, and piano. She’s an amazing fusion of blues, hip hop, and pop. Full of soul and genuine lyrics she is what the women of today need. Check out ALL of her stuff.

“I won’t be your debutante.
Won’t be the fool to your savant
I can’t fix your cracked-up dreams
While the leaves fall off these trees
I won’t spend the winter nights
Holding on to what ain’t right
You might break your words real fast
But mine are made to last

365 days, you’ve been making me wait
So keep your two-timing games
It’s a lot of too late
The summer’s over.”

365 Days ZZ Ward

4. “Happy Ever After” by Gin Wigmore

Okay, I know she’s already on this list once but I love her music. I just can’t help myself. This song helped me get through a brutal breakup and gave me some much needed perspective. I still catch the feels every time I hear it. So feel lucky because I listened to it in order to make sure this was a good version.

“It’s been a long time coming
And this house is burning down
Don’t know how I ever loved you
I was blind and running into what’s in front of me
If I only knew, that happy ever after wasn’t you.”

Happy Every After- Gin Wigmore

5. “Hard” by Rihanna

Now I’m normally not a huge Rihanna fan. Her voice isn’t very good without auto tune; nonetheless, this song can make any woman feel ready to take on the world. It’s catchy, confident hip hop. And so, it goes on the list.

“They can say whatever, I’ma do whatever. No pain is forever, yup you know this. Tougher than a lion, ain’t no need in tryin’. I live where the sky ends, yup, you know this.”

Hard by Rihanna

6. “U.N.I.T.Y.” by Queen Latifah

Queen Latifah is a thoroughbred woman. Period. I forgot she ever even made music until I heard this song. She calls misogynistic men out and encourages unity among women. It’s awesome old school sounding hip hop. Beautiful sax notes with Queen Latifah’s ever recognizable voice.

“You say I’m nothing without ya, but I’m nothing with ya
A man don’t really love you if he hits ya
This is my notice to the door, I’m not taking it no more
I’m not your personal whore, that’s not what I’m here for
And nothing good gonna come to ya til you do right by me
Brother you wait and see (Who you calling a bitch?)”

U.N.I.T.Y. by Queen Latifah

7. “Yellow Flicker Beat” by Lorde

I either love or hate this woman’s music. This song is about everyone who ever abused or mistreated her. My favorite line says “And now people talk to me. I’m slipping out of reach now. People talk to me, and all their faces blur. But I got my fingers laced together and I made a little prison. And I’m locking up everyone that ever laid a finger on me. I’m going in.”

Yellow Flicker Beat by Lorde

8. “Salute” by Little Mix

This quartet of strong women know how to get you hype with a song. This military theme song calls all women to stand together and move up and on in the world. Favorite line?

“Sisters we are everywhere.
Warriors, your country needs you.
If you ready ladies, better keep steady.
Ready, aim, shoot it.
Don’t need ammunition. On a mission.
And we’ll hit you with the truth.
Representing all the women, salute, salute!”

Salute by Little Mix

I love music. More specifically, I love music that makes me feel. These songs do that for me. There will probably be many more lists like this to come but for now, my ADD has kicked in and I want to move on to something else. 🙂 Enjoy.

by Ashley Hebner

Leave a Reply

