The Peaceful Silence of Snow

This is the view outside my front door right now. Forgive the poor quality; it’s midnight.

 I absolutely despise the cold but I love the peace that the snow seems to bring. It washes everything in white; making it appear new and innocent.

I remember as a young teenager, my high school friend Kirstie and I woke up early one morning. We made our coffee, grabbed our cigarettes, and headed to her front porch to begin our morning ritual of silence, coffee drinking, and chain smoking. When we got outside we saw the snow. It was so beautiful. Coatesville is a semi-dirty, urban area; not known for it’s peace. But on that morning the world was asleep and it was just us, chain smoking in silence, surrounded by nothing but the sounds of the flakes falling to the ground.

My life was rather turbulent at the time and on that specific morning I remember feeling more at peace than I had in a long time. We were just two best friends watching the snow fall. It was silent besides the sound of the snow itself and I had never seen anything like it. Being born in Florida, at that point, that was the most snow I’d ever seen. Everything look clean, like it had never been touched or tainted. And strangely enough, it wasn’t that cold. We were in long sleeve shirts, pajama pants, and socks; yet we weren’t cold.

Anytime I see a significant amount of snow this memory is what comes to mind. And even if for just a moment, a sense of serenity washes over me and I am 13 again, experincing a moment of peace amidst a world of pain. And it is so beautiful.

by Ashley Hebner

© All Rights Reserved 2016

